Tampa, Florida, September 23, 2020 -- Tampa Prep is proud to announce six seniors who were designated as Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program: Ewan Abercrombie, Porter Laartz, Henry Matthews, Catherine Schmidt, Hayden Shwetzer, Johann Vennink.

A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented to these seniors.

11 - Abercrombie_Ewan

Ewan Abercrombie

11 - Laartz_Porter

Porter Laartz

11 - Matthews_Henry

Henry Matthews

11 - Schmidt_CatherineCatherine Schmidt

11 - Shwetzer_Hanna
Hayden Shwetzer

11 - Vennink_Johann

Johann Vennink

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2021 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”